Category Archives: Activities

Homecoming 2018

Homecoming at Gibbon High School is this week, October 1-6. Activities will kick off with a pep rally on Tuesday morning at 8:05 a.m. Decorating will take place during Advisory period on Tuesday for those who sign up. The Lou-Platte Conference Cross Country meet is on Tuesday in Ord with the girls set to run at 4:00 pm followed by the boys race. Tuesday evening there are volleyball games versus Overton beginning with freshmen at 5:00.  The freshmen will play only one set so jv and varsity games will start earlier than originally scheduled. Wednesday is Class Color War as well as the Olympics that afternoon. Thursday is 80’s Throwback Day and Friday is Spirit Day with the football game against Centura kicking off at 7:00 pm. Crowning of the Homecoming Royalty will take place after the football game and the dance will take place on Saturday from 9 pm – midnight.

Fine Arts Facebook Page

Be sure to “Like” the Fine Arts Facebook page to keep up with everything the Gibbon band, choir, and drama students are doing. Just search for Gibbon Fine Arts to find us.

Buffalo Marching Band On Parade

The Gibbon Buffalo Band will soon be seen marching in parades. Those parade are: UNK Band Day–Saturday, Sept. 22, at 10:00 a.m.; Harvest of Harmony–Saturday, October 6, at 8:00 a.m.; and Minden Bandfest–Saturday, October 13, at 1:00 pm.

National FCCLA Gold Medalist

Congratulations to Zach Thomas on receiving a gold medal at the National FCCLA Conference. He earned 98.5 points out of 100 on his presentation. Great job, Zach! Congratulations also to Mrs. Ronnfeldt, the FCCLA sponsor.

Elementary Movie Day

The Gibbon Elementary Parent Organization (GEPO) will be showing the movie, Wonder, for students in grades K-6 on the last day of school — Tuesday, May 22 — at 1:00 pm in the auditorium. Click here for more information: Movie Day.

Spring Walk/Bike to School Day

Students in K-6th grade are asked to be more active by walking or biking to school. Mr. Alderson met a group at the public library this morning. When students reached school they were given water and snacks provided by the GEPO. Thank you to the GEPO for helping coordinate and providing snacks. Special thank you to Erin Herter for helping pass out treats.

2018 Athletic Awards

Preschool Program

The preschool program is scheduled for Wednesday, May 9, at 10:00 a.m. and 2:30 pm. This is also the preschoolers last day of school.

Art Show and Fine Arts Awards Night

This Thursday, May 3, is the Art Show from 6:30 – 8:00 pm. Student art work will be on display in the high school gym during this time. The Fine Arts Awards Night will begin at 7:30 pm in the auditorium.

Academic Honors Night Tonight

Academic Honors Night begins at 7 pm tonight, April 30. Please make plans to attend and celebrate our students success.

No School Friday — GPS Hosting District Music

As noted on the school calendar, there will be no school for students and staff this Friday, April 20, as Gibbon is hosting the district music competition and the entire school building will be utilized.

National Qualifier

Gibbon FBLA is proud to announce that Samantha Mercer will be representing our school and our state at the FBLA National Leadership Conference in Baltimore, Maryland from June 27-July 2.  She placed third at the FBLA State Leadership Conference in the Publication Design competition.  Gibbon FBLA had six members attend the conference in Omaha from April 5-7 (James Chramosta, Abby Christensen, Bailee Labs, Christopher Mercer, Samantha Mercer & Karley Luther).

Speech State Qualifiers

Congratulations to Parker Kenton and Morgan Wadkins-Myer on qualifying for the NSAA State Speech Competition. Congratulations also to Chris and Samantha Mercer for earning medals at districts. Gibbon brought home 5 district medals. Great job!

Student Honor Choir Selections

Congratulations to Christopher Mercer and Morgan Wadkins-Meyer for their honor choir selections. Christopher was selected for UNO’s BOCH Festival Honor Choir and Morgan has been selected for the Hastings College Honor Choir. Congratulations to both of these students for these outstanding honors!

Shimmers Little Kids Dance Camp

The GHS Shimmers are hosting a “Little Kids Dance Camp” on Thursday, December 21, from 8:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. That night they will dance during halftime of the boys varsity basketball game versus Minden.

Students Selected to Honor Choirs

Congratulations to Samantha Mercer and Morgan Wadkins-Meyer for being selected to the Doane Honor Choir. Morgan Wadkins-Meyer was also recently selected to the UNK Choral Clinic Festival Choir. Congratulations!

One Act Public Performance

The One Act play, The Inexperienced Ghost, will be presented to the public on Friday, November 17. The performance for elementary grades 3-6 will be at 2:00, grades 7-12 at 2:45, and that evening for the general public at 7:00 pm.

UNK Beta-Men Conference

Fourteen junior high boys recently attended the Beta-Men Conference at UNK. This youth empowerment conference empowers young men to become better individuals and members of society by equipping them with the educational resources and communal network.

One-Act Play

Congratulations to the following students earning outstanding actor/actress awards at the York K-Dub Play Production Competition held Saturday, November 11: Brie Bailey, Morgan Wadkins-Meyer, Chris Mercer, and Samantha Mercer. Great job! In addition, a schedule of performances is located under the Students Tab (Activities Menu) at the top of this page.

Calendar Change–District One Act Play

The District One-Act Play competition will be Wednesday, November 29, at the Tassel Performing Arts Center in Holdrege. This is a change from the previous date of November 27.